When it rains, it floods

IMG_0738

IMG_0749

IMG_0743When I was back in Kathmandu, I spent one night with Aman (*pictured) and Aarav. I had never seen Kathmandu  like this before. For most everyone, this is normal, but I’ve somehow managed not to experience the middle of monsoon in Nepal . . .

I love heavy rains like these and long for more.

When it rains in Kathmandu, it floods.

The world become water.

Here in Letang, we’re also all amazed by the rains. They’re incredibly persistent and limit our work more with each day. It can be frustrating, but there is nothing we can do, but sit and wait it out.

The rains here are a apart of life and we’re getting used to it. And, I have to admit, I still enjoy it and the daily routine it creates. I will certainly miss the sound of water hitting the tin roof above me while I sleep. I find it all very comforting and still. . .  very exciting.

Life moves slowly and quietly these days, but it is pleasant, filled with good reading and writing and even better conversations and card games.

[Photos: Thamel, Kathmandu//Grace Farson]

Leave a Reply

